The Spice of Life

Thoughtful piece on targets. When are they useful and how do you really make improvements? When is a result a signal and when is it just noise?

Thanks to ThinkPurpose for reblogging so that I could read it and reblog it too.

Squire to the Giants

spices-442726_640Variety is the spice of life. If everything were the same it would be rather boring. Happily, there is natural variety in everything.

Let me use an example to explain:

I was thinking about this as I was walking the dog the other day. I use the same route, along the beach each day, and it takes me roughly the same time – about 30 minutes.

If I actually timed myself each and every day (and didn’t let this fact change my behaviour) then I would find that the walk might take me on average 30 minutes but it could range anywhere between, say, 26 and 37 minutes.

I think you would agree with me that it would be somewhat bizarre if it always took me, say, exactly 29 minutes and 41 seconds to walk the dog – that would just be weird!

You understand that there are all sorts…

View original post 1,406 more words

Leave a Reply

